Saturday, July 31, 2010
Leaving the UK, hello Philly
In London, leaving for Philly. Woke up at 7AM took a shower and went to breakfast. Had another buffet, the place was packed with Koreans from the wedding reception the night before. Breakfast was ok, it was free so I can’t complain. I had time to catch the 8:10 Hoopa bus but I would have ended up sitting in the departures lounge waiting for the counting counters to open. Therefore, I opted to stay another hour in the hotel. I updated my food journal and my daily journal entries. Well my plan didn’t work so well. I went to the lobby at 8:30 to caught the 8:40 Hoopa. The next three scheduled buses never arrived. Moreover, there were at least 50 people outside waiting for the hoopa to terminal 5. The terminal 1 and 2 buses showed up on time, but no one was taking thous buses. Well I got to the airport about 10AM. I checked in but still had to go to bag drop-off to show the agent my bag tickets. He said they were not in the system. Therefore, he added them. He said to check with the guy at the plane so he could verify that my bags were on the flight. I went through security and got to the BA lounge. I was able to charge up the laptop, finish my beer blog, and added Fuller’s London Pride to the entries. I got carried away in the lounge and was not paying attention to the flight board. I noticed that the gate had opened and it was in the “B” gate area. Therefore, I scrambled to pack up and left for the train to the B gates. When I arrived, they started pre-boarding. I entered through the fast track lane, when I got up to the plane door I asked the attendant to check to see if my bags were on board. She confirmed that they were, ah relief. Flight was good, my iPod was down to 20% battery. I guess it did not charge off the laptop. I was still able to listen to music for a few hours. I was a normal business class flight on BA. No surprises and excellent service. We landed in Philly on time, debarked the plane and went through customs, no issues. I rented a cart because I had three bags, $4 are you kidding me! My first two bags come off rather quickly, but I had to wait several minutes for the third. It was the new bag and there was a rip on the side. The rip did not go all the way through, so no worries. As I reached the rental car pick up area, I spotted an Avis van so no waits this time. (that's a first) I was issued a nice Jeep, Liberty. Very cool but I’m sure the gas mileage will suck. I arrived home and started to unpack a little, then started a load of laundry. I had a DFH Raison D'Etre, I poured into a pint glass thinking it was a Pumpkin Ale. I transferred it over to a Tulip glass. I let it warm up a bit first. I skipped dinner and watched a recorded Nova episode. About 8PM I was tired and went to bed. Around 2AM I was awake so I got up and finished unpacking and sorting some stuff. Went back to bed around 4AM. Got up again at 6AM, I started to walk to DD for coffee, a quarter of the way to DD it started to sprinkle so I headed back. I made coffee at home instead, it wasn’t that good so I only had one cup.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment