Monday 28th, Still in the UK, same as yesterday, I was up with the morning light again, around 4AM. I checked my email before laid back down. Stayed in bed until almost seven. Charged my iPod and Blackberry. Went downstairs and took a shower. Fixed toast and coffee, that’s went everyone else started coming downstairs. Suzy had already been up, she had taken the dog out for a walk. The kids were sent to school and Suzy drove me to the airport a little after 9AM. I checked in everything ok, but the seat number did not look right. I asked the baggage person to check it out and realized it was the right number. I walked around through the shops, I didn’t see any iPod accessories I wanted. Sat at the V-Bar and ordered a beer then decided to get the tapas with chorizo sausage and coffee. At the gate, I was the last one on the first bus to the plane. This meant I was the first one to board. Yes! I get carry-on luggage space. The flight in Economy was not bad other than the young chick in front of me who insisted on leaning back in her seat the entire trip. I hate self-centered people like that. I listened to my iPod nearly the entire trip and only used 1/3 of the battery. That’s cool! When we were over New Jersey, the pilot came on and said we were to be delayed by 30 minutes because of the rainstorm. A minute later, he came on and said that traffic control will let us in. We landed and got to the gate. Went through customs with not issues, had to wait on the luggage. Got outside and caught the Avis bus to the lot. Avis is using a new lot for preferred clients. While driving home had some traffic but not bad. I got home around 5PM. I received the Apple software. In addition, I received two new credit cards and the Best Buy Cards. DirecTV does not seem to be working. Had a brewskie or two then I went to bed around 10:30.
Tuesday 29th, I did not sleep well last night. I think it was jet lag. I got up a few times in the middle of the night. Finally got out of bed at 5AM. Took a much-needed shower and walked to DD for morning brew. It is warm and muggy at this time in the morning. I broke a sweat coming back. I purchased the exit row seat going to LHR it was $75 but worth it, I will not have to worry about some young chick wanting to move her seat back in my face. I tried to upgrade to Premium Economy but Expedia said I had to contact BA and BA says I have to use the travel agent. I made my shopping itinerary for the day, lots to do. The DirecTV is still out, diagnosis says it may the dish alignment. That must have happened during the big storms last weekend. I think I will end the service and get Verizon FIOS out here. I went to Sears at 9AM but the sign outside said 9:30, they need to update their website. Therefore, I drove over to the grocery store and picked up deli meat, bread, veggies and coffee. Went out again to Sears, but they did not have a French press. They did have the tote bags I’m looking for, I’ll shop around for luggage during the week. I went to Best Buy near the house but this store does not sell Apple items. That sucks. I decided to head out to the KoP Mall. I arrived a little after 11AM and went to the Rock Bottom Brewery. I ordered the flat bread it was delish! Moreover, of course, a beer. Mary answered my message from this morning. I'm going to head over about 5PM. She said they are thinking about buying the Apple Mini themselves. I started to go to the Apple store then realized that I need to use the $200 Best Buy cards for the Apple Mini. Therefore, I drove over to the Best Buy in KoP. I was able to get everything, Mini, keyboard, 2TB drive and the DVI connector. With the discount, it came to $750. Got home, set it up and started playing. I got the codes for my wireless network, they were the same one’s as before. Matt just changed the SSID. I secured the router password it was too easy before. Made myself a nice turkey sandwich and had a beer, yum it’s good to back in the USA. As Photoshop was installing, I went down to Target to look the items I could not find today. It took a while but I found a French Press and an electric kettle. Got home and made fresh coffee. The French Press is so much better than a coffee maker. Continued to setup the Mini. Transferred my Photos over to the new external drive. I setup the email and sent Tracy a message telling her about my new toy and asked her again to send me the Xmas photos. I started getting tired around 8PM. I hope that I can sleep tonight.
Wednesday 30th, Slept good last night! And it was a nice chilly night, I opened some windows to cool down the house. Got up at 6AM, walked down to DD for a cup of brew. I installed Skype and Yahoo on the Mini. Went on line to check out the RAM prices for the Apple. Between $45 and $100 for each 2GB DIMM. At around 9AM I went to Lowes and picked up a board for the keyboard and mouse to use for the Mini. In addition, I got a small desk lamp and a window squeegee. Went out again to try to find RAM for the Mini. Best Buy had none and Staples had the RAM but is priced at $95 each. No thank you. I think I will wait until I really need the upgrade. The system is running fine right now. Next stop was the Memphis Taproom! Spanky was at the bar when I went in. Very cool we chatted for a while. I asked if he could order a case of the JW Lees Barlywine for me. No problems he said, it would be about $150 for the case (his price), I’ll swing by Saturday to pick it up. Got home about 5PM. Picked out the Jazz CDs from the jukeboxes. I’ll start burning tonight. Just need to figure out how to synchronize to the iPod. Tracy sent a link for the photos I asked her to send. That was fast. Went to bed around 9PM.
Thursday 1st, Got up about 4:30AM and checked AECOM email. Walked up to DD about 5:30 for breakfast and coffee. Got the Septa timescales for the trip downtown today. I arrived at the office around 11AM. Talked to a few peeps and went to lunch with Tom at Devil’s Alley. Great food! I always wanted to try this place, it opened a year before I went to Libya. I got back home around 3PM. I started burning my Jazz CDs today. In addition, was able to get the update to the CopyTrans software to work with iOS 4. I Skype Mom and played on the Mini some more today. I sent Lynn from work the link to my Picasa site. I signed up for Verizon’s FiOS with the Extreme HD with 25/25 Internet access for less than my DirecTV bill. I scheduled for tomorrow between 8 and 5. They called to verify that they would be out in the morning. I hope so. I don’t want to be late leaving for John and Mary’s. I watched Bill Maher via Internet, some older shows. Got to bed late, I think.
Friday 2nd, Walked do to DD around 5:30AM. I started cleaning up and getting ready for the FiOS installers. I imported my contacts to the Mini via Vcard. I continued ripping the Jazz CDs. The Verizon installers called, they will be here at 10AM. The works for me! I will be able to leave for John and Mary’s around 4PM. The installer arrived around 9:30 and finished by 2:30. Great! I left for John and Mary’s at 4PM and arrived at 5:30 on time. We chatted for a while, Mary wanted to know all about Tracy. I brought the Mini but they did not have a monitor to hook up to. We went to Union Jacks and ate outside on the patio, the weather was great. We got back and listen to music and talked until midnight. I slept over.
Saturday 3rd,I got up at 7:30 but John and Mary were still sleeping. I left a note on the dining table and drove home at 8AM. Arrived home and took a shower. Just took it easy until 11AM when I drove to the Memphis Taproom for my case of JW Lees. They did not have it, Spanky said the distributor could not put the case together. I had lunch then headed home. A bit later I went to the beer distributor and groceries store. I called Joe around 5PM to see if they were home no answer. I just watch TV and work a bit on the Mini. At 7PM I tried the Slapper’s again and left a message. About 8PM, Gretchen called and said they just got home. She invited me over, I said I had a case of beer and steaks that I can bring over. We cooked on the grill and hung out in the back yard until 2AM.
Sunday 4th of July! Woke up about 8:30 this morning. I walked to DD for coffee and a bagel. Did a few credit card things. Watch some TV. Called Joe around 1PM, he said to come over. I left at 2PM and went to the beer distributor and bought a case of beer and some ice. Joe and I just chilled out in the back yard and drank beer. Gret and the kids got home from the pool around 5PM. We had dinner and hung out. I started getting sleepy around 11Pm and went home.
Monday 5th, Got up at 7:30 and showered up. I decided to head over and do the 4th of July parade. I swung by DD for coffee and donut holes. We went to Carol and Mike’s. I haven’t seen Carol in a long time. The parade was just like last year. During the parade, Tracy had sent an email. I was not able to read it outdoors. I went home around noonish. When I got back I reply to Tracy’s message. I watched FiOS TV and Chilled out. I had wine, beer and ice cream then crashed about 9:30PM.
Tuesday 6th,I got up at 6AM, decided not to walk to DD. I made my own coffee later in the morning. I paid the utility bills. Started cleaning up the back yard before the temperature got too high. The outside thermostat was reading 90 degrees at 9AM, wow! Got a lot done. After yard work and a shower, I went to Sears for the luggage. I discovered that their entire inventory of luggage was on sale. I ended up getting a name brand for half price. Next, I went to Lowes for weed killer then drove to Best Buy and purchased an iPod dock which I can use with the Bose computer speakers and I got a Bluetooth hands free unit. I went home to drop off everything. Joe had left a message saying he was not able to do lunch. I decided to go to the Iron Hill off 309 for lunch. I had a small pizza and purchased two of the aged 750ml bottles. The English Barlywine and their 19th Anniversary beer. Got home and feel asleep watching TV. Around 4PM I decided to check out Earth Bread and Brew in Mt. Airy. I was smaller than I thought and the beer selection was not as good as I hoped. The flat bread pizza was delish. I checked out the back yard when I got home. It looks so much better. All of the vegetation as died in the pavers. Just watched TV tonight.
No comments:
Post a Comment